taking a break

It looks like life has helped Mike and I make our decision for the next step. I’ve been offered a seat in a 3-month class which I will attend in place of work, the same class I was offered back in August before we started our first IVF cycle – which I decided to pull myself out of. Since this is the last time I’ll be offered the class I didn’t think it was wise to pass it up once again, so I told my work to sign me up. So all fertility treatments will be put on hold until this class is over. Although we had already discussed taking a break, I was still torn over the decision of putting treatments on hold for 3 months, but I was able to resolve those feelings. I don’t want fertility treatments to consume our lives, and I can’t allow myself to pass up awesome opportunities that I’ll regret later. 3-6 months seems like a long time to wait to start again, but it’ll give me some time to finish up some things I’ve been putting off.

In the meantime, we’ve decided to try to sell our timeshare in Vegas to pay for the next IVF cycle, pending a good genetics screening of course. We’d been talking about selling it for a while, but are still looking for a good company to sell it through. If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know. If the next cycle doesn’t work, then we’ll most likely move on to IUI with donor sperm. I just feel like we need to give IVF one more shot, especially since my mind is not yet willing to cross that barrier to using donor sperm. I’m sure I’ll be more open to it later, just not yet.

********

In other news, we finally adopted a dog. Her name is Cayenne, and she’s a one year old American Pitt Bull Terrier. She’s so beautiful and sweet! I know Pitt Bulls have terrible reputations for being aggressive and mean dogs, but it’s just not true (unless you train them that way, of course). We adopted her from a shelter where she was taken in as a stray. When we visited with her she was just so sweet – and the only dog in the place that wasn’t barking like crazy! We don’t have her home yet since we just got approved by the shelter and she has to go to the vet to be spayed before we can pick her up, but it shouldn’t be more than a few more days now. I’m so excited to get her home. I’ll make sure to post pictures soon.

********

One last note on the infertility front – I still haven’t had the miscarriage yet. I’m not sure when it’s going to happen, but I feel pretty adamant about having it without the help of meds. I feel like my body should at least be able to miscarry naturally. I don’t really see any harm in waiting it out. Has anyone had any experience with a blighted ovum miscarriage? How long after you found out did you miscarry?  Any information would be helpful.

4 Responses to “taking a break”

  1. ewokmama Says:

    Congratulations on the dog! I’m happy you’ll have that class and the dog to fill your time, and it’s good you’re taking the opportunities that are coming your way.

    As far as the misccariage, I had a wacky situation in which at 6 weeks there was a weird miscarriage of an apparent twin, and then the second fetus died around 8 weeks but I didn’t miscarry until 4 weeks later. So, it takes time for the body to figure it out. I did get some cytotec to help things along but the process was already started at that point. Keep motrin handy.

  2. Emily Says:

    I am glad you have made some plans. I always feel better when I know what to expect, which is ironic since you never really know what is actually going to happen. Best of luck with your class and your new doggy!

  3. Two Kayaks Says:

    Taking a break is a very good thing. Congrats on your new pup! Best of luck with the class as well.

  4. Katie Says:

    I’m sorry if this is late, but I didn’t see an update about your m/c and I just wanted to let you know that my m/c took 6 weeks to happen. We found out our twins weren’t viable at 5w5d and I started to bleed at 11w2 days. However, this was also with the help of cytotek (inserted vaginally). My body just didn’t want to let go, so I am sorry you are going through this too =(

    As for the pup…I have a pit/boxer mix and although she is crazy, we love her and she does make all of “this” easier. GL!


Leave a comment