it was too good to be true

I had my ultrasound this morning…they found an empty gestational sac, technical term blighted ovum.  I knew as soon as I saw it on the ultrasound what the doctor was going to tell me.  It doesn’t take a genius to see that there was nothing inside the sac.  I was hoping I was wrong, but the longer she examined it without saying anything, the more I knew I was right.

The doctor said that I had three choices, 1) I could miscarry naturally, 2) they could give me medication that would help things along, or 3) have an operation to remove the gestational sac.  I opted for a natural miscarriage.  I don’t want to deal with any more medication or procedures right now.  I have to go in for another ultrasound next week, I guess to make sure that everything is gone after the miscarriage.

I’ve been crying off an on ever since we found out.  Just when I feel like I have everything under control, I start to cry again.  Although I knew this was a possibility, I was hoping that I would be one of the lucky ones.  So much for that.

I’m going to take a break from blogging for a while over the holidays.  I’m going to see my family in California for Christmas, so hopefully being around them will help me get through this.

11 Responses to “it was too good to be true”

  1. Beth Says:

    I’m so sorry. Hopefully your visit with your family helps a bit. Sending hugs.

  2. ewokmama Says:

    😦 I’m so sorry. *HUGS* Are you at home today?

  3. Miss Conception Says:

    Sweet girl,
    There are no words to express how sorry I am that this is happening to you. Sometimes, all of the support and love in the world just isn’t enough to see you through. I don’t even know you, but I am aching to wrap you in a huge hug. I guess my own miscarriage this week is making me want to connect with you. If you need any information, anything at all, email me. I didn’t have a choice as to how I would miscarry, but I am glad it wasn’t through a procedure. Please take good care of yourself and know that I am thinking about you and wishing you strength and peace.

  4. Julie Says:

    ((hugs)) I am so sorry to hear that. 😦

  5. Emily Says:

    I am so sorry. There really are no better words and I wish there were. That is truly awful after all that heartache and emotional ups and downs of just getting to this point. I am so sorry. What a terrible time of year for this too.

  6. Annika Says:

    I’m so sorry. I wish there were something I could do.

  7. The Ranting Ranger Says:

    I’ve sat here for several minutes hoping to think of something intelligent to say, but even though we’ve endured a similar situation, I can’t think of anything helpful. You deserve much better. We look forward to seeing you this weekend, and we will help you anyway we can.

  8. Erica Says:

    I’m so sorry. I wish there was something I could say.

  9. Twisted Cinderella Says:

    ((Hugs)) I am soo soo sorry.

  10. Lori Says:

    I’m so sorry. When I miscarried (also blighted ovum) in August, I was so crushed. Be gentle with yourself and now is definitely the time to indulge in whatever you want. Take that extra brownie, watch an extra 4 hours of t.v. if that’s what you want to do. Treat yourself gently.

  11. Tam I am Says:

    It wasn’t too good to be true and it still isn’t. How do I know? Because I had a girlfriend with the same issue (which I did not understand at the time) who probably has grandkids now from her two biological boys which she had by pure chance which isn’t uncommon.

    Do not give up until you achieve your desire, Holly. I am sincerely praying for you, I have all the faith in the world in you. This is a test, it is only a test… You will have your hearts desire, I promise. I love you.

    Congrats on Cayenne! Cool name, too! I looooooooooooove dogs!
    (God spelled backwards for a reason)

    Sincerely, Aunt Tam


Leave a Reply

