miscellaneous

I had my first outing today since the surgery on Friday, and now I’m not feeling so hot. I woke up this morning feeling much of the tenderness gone, so I decided it was a good idea to go get some lunch and do some grocery shopping. But the jarring feeling of walking made my abdomen feel very uncomfortable, and I had to walk sort of hunched over so I didn’t feel too much pressure. Plus, the outing made me incredibly tired. I really don’t understand how they tell people that they should be able to go back to work within 24 hours. I’m feeling very grateful that I had the weekend to recover. It’s not excruciating pain, it’s just discomfort, but enough to make me want to just lay around the house and sleep all day.

Other than that, everything is going well. I bought a thermometer today to keep a watch out for a fever in case I start getting symptoms of OHSS. I also tried to buy a scale, since one of the symptoms is excessive weight gain, but a search of Wal Mart yielded nothing! It’s probably for the best – I don’t really like having a scale in the house. I’m the type that would have to weigh myself every time I saw the damn thing, and I don’t really want to know my weight after all these medications I’ve been taking for the past few weeks. Anyway, I’ve been staying very hydrated, drinking a ton of water – it’s the only thing I can find that says it helps with OHSS – enough that I can’t sleep through the night anymore without having to pee. I guess I’m just getting prepared for what it’ll be like when I’m pregnant, right?

I’ve started taking my progesterone in oil injections, which are not bad at all. I thought I might have a similar experience with the limping as I did with the HSG shot, but so far it’s just a little sore. Mike’s getting good at giving the shots, and I’ve learned that it’s best to lay down on my side while he gives it. This helps relax the muscles more than sitting or standing does. After he gives me the injection, I massage the area for a while, and the first night I put a warm towel on it. I don’t really know if it helps or not, but since I’m not feeling any pain, I’ll stick with it.

Okay, that’s enough of my ramblings. Hopefully I’ll have a post with interesting content tomorrow, after my transfer – unless, cross your fingers – it gets rescheduled for a blastocyst transfer!

Leave a Reply

