grow follies, grow!

I had another appointment this morning for blood work and a sonogram. Everything is coming along nicely (as far as the doctor is telling me anyway). The doctor counted 18 follicles on my right ovary, and 13 on my left, ranging from a size of 6-9 mm. He said that the count is a bit high because of my PCOS but that the size of the follicles are good. On another note, he explained to me the difference between the original follicle count they did at my baseline and what they are counting now. The ones at my baseline were baby follicles, called antral follicles, which are counted to give them an idea of how many eggs I might produce – at least that is how I understood it. Now, the only follicles they are counting are those that look like they are maturing.

This afternoon I got a call from the nurse regarding my dosage of stims*. She told me to change my dosage to keep taking one powder of FSH in the morning, and to increase my evening dose to one powder of both FSH an hMG. The hMG is used to stimulate the development of the follicles, so it makes sense that they upped my dosage. I’ve read that follicles should be at least 18mm in size before retrieval, and they grow about 2mm per day.

On a slightly negative note, I was supposed to have my pre-op today, but when I tried to check in, they said I didn’t have an appointment. They told me come back Tuesday. That worried me, because Tuesday is only two days before my retrieval date, which is too close for comfort. So I went to talk to one of the IVF nurses to make sure it was okay, and she said it was fine but that I had to be seen Tuesday. Which makes me even more anxious, because now I have this feeling of dread that something will go wrong. I always like to have some type of buffer to allow for mistakes or delays, and now there is none. Which sucks. On top of that, Mike has an interview on Tuesday morning for a new job and can’t go with me to my appointment, so I have to ask some random woman to be my chaperon or wait for the nurses at the end. Logically, I realize that everything will probably be fine, but that doesn’t change the fact that I’ll still stress about it until it’s all over. (Sigh)

Okay, that’s all I have for now. Time to watch one of my few favorite shows – Weeds πŸ™‚

*I always feel like a druggie when I use that word

2 Responses to “grow follies, grow!”

  1. ewokmama Says:

    I am rooting for your follies, too. πŸ˜‰

  2. Beth Says:

    I’m thinking growing thoughts! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

