stressed

Anyone have suggestions on how to relax?  Because I am very bad need of it.  Lately work has been stressing me out to the point where my chest starts feeling very constricted and I get a sort of tight pain.  I try to clear my mind and not think about what is stressing me, but it doesn’t seem to be working.  And to be honest, the things that are stressing me are really not that bad.  In fact, it’s down right overreacting.  But even as I acknowledge that I shouldn’t be so upset, it makes me even more upset.

Is this a side effect of the medicine or of my bitterness over infertility?  Could be a little bit of both.  I think it mainly has to do with the fact that since I can’t talk about what is going on with my personal life, all my anger is being redirected towards work, and I’m starting to hate it.  I used to love my job.  Now everything just pisses me off.  It’s getting to the point where I don’t even hide my irritation anymore.  But it’s not the irritation that I’m worried about hiding…it’s the tears that threaten to present themselves whenever I feel overwhelmed at work that I’m concerned with.  I don’t even like Mike to see me crying, I would hate to humiliate myself in front of all my coworkers.

 So please, anyone who has found ways to relax and manage their stress, leave me some suggestions.  I’m open to (almost) anything.

6 Responses to “stressed”

  1. ewokmama Says:

    It sounds like you are having anxiety attacks. One of the best ways to combat them is exercise. When you have an anxiety attack, your system is having a “fight or flight” response. If you do some form of exercise (take a break and jog, for instance) it will take care of it because you are responding to your body’s signals. Your body *can’t* freak out while you are excercising.

    I drink a lot of hot tea to relax, and read fantasy books because they take me completely out of this world (anything by Patricia McKillip…). Blogging helps.

  2. Holly Says:

    Yes, I’ve noticed that exercising does help. Usually a good workout at the gym helps ease my stress level. I guess the problem is when I’m at work. I don’t really have a rest from the time I get to work until I come home, so there is no time to take a break to relax. I’m not sure if blogging would help, but I can’t do that at work either – they monitor our activity on the Internet and get on to us for doing anything non-work related.

    I used to smoke to relax, but that’s out now. Maybe I should think about going for non-smoke breaks. At least it would get me out of the office for a short while.

  3. Beth Says:

    Anxiety attacks are fun, aren’t they? 😉 Guided Meditation and Deep Breathing exercises have worked best for me. I practice both on a regular basis and I’m almost to the point where I can stop any anxiety attack in its tracks with some deep breathing. I’m not quite as into the meditation as a lot of people but my loose version of it works for me.

    It took me a long time to find a guided meditation that didn’t make me more antsy. 😛 I ended up with a podcast from Robert Neely. I love his voice and the words didn’t feel as hokey as some of the others. If you have iTunes you can just search their store for that name. Try the 7-minute version first. If you don’t have iTunes I could send you the MP3 or a CD. When I feel the first symptoms of an attack (a racing mind in my case) I try this and it usually calms me down.

    The deep breathing is actually a great exercise for anyone because most of us are constantly taking shallow breaths. The body gets stressed when it’s not getting enough oxygen and according to my doctor the body is incapable of having stress reactions when you are deep breathing.

    Take breaks. They don’t have to be long breaks but you need to get away from your desk at least 3 times a day. Even if the break is just turning away from your computer and stretching, it will help.

    The biggest thing for me is stopping an attack before it gets to full speed. If I ignore the early symptoms nothing seems to work later on (except Ativan).

  4. ewokmama Says:

    Do you have an office or cubicle? You could do some desk exercises (ask Beth about these). Maybe some brain teaser puzzles like Sudoku or something would also help.

  5. Holly Says:

    Beth – I do have iTunes. I’ll check out the podcast from Robert Neely, thanks. I’m also going to look into the deep breathing techniques. It sounds like this would be the best technique to use at work since I have limited resources.

    Ewokmama – I actually work in a room that’s completely open to everyone. I do have an assigned cubicle, but it’s really only there for me to check my email at the beginning and end of the day. I look forward to the days that I can have an office (sigh)…

  6. caligal Says:

    Hey Holly, I’ve been lurking around from afar and I had to chime in. I have found acupuncture to be super relaxing and calming. It is the greatest thing that I do for myself on a weekly basis. I only began doing it about 4 weeks ago…and I started primarily for infertility, but the side benefit has been total relaxation! Here is a cute website that I found that talks about women’s experiences: http://www.thepinnies.org/

    Good luck with relaxing!


Leave a Reply

