apparently I need a trip to the caribbean

It never ceases to amaze me how thoughtless people can be. I had an appointment with the dentist this afternoon for a check up, and had to update my paperwork. In a hurry to get the paperwork done since they were ready to call me back, I misread one of the questions as “what medication are you currently on?” instead of “what allergy medicine are you currently on?”, and I filled out Lupron and prenatal vitamins When the dentist came in to see me, and started asking me questions, I realized I had filled out the question wrong. I tried to sidestep his questioning, but he insisted on finding out what Lupron was for. After a multitude of questions, I finally ended up telling him I was taking it for fertility treatments (I’m not good under pressure). He then proceeded to tell me about his sister who had problems getting pregnant, who had to go through fertility treatments and it ended up being that she had to take antibiotics (she had somehow started producing antibodies against her husbands sperm) and now she had two kids. At this point, I’m giving him a polite smile but not saying anything, because I don’t want to encourage any more discussion. Then he goes on to tell me how him and his wife had no problem getting pregnant, how they had decided to have kids, and it just happened…goodie for him. Here’s the kicker – he then tells me that all I really need is a 2 week trip to the Caribbean to relax. So that’s it! Why spend all this money on fertility treatments when according to my dentist, all I need is a trip to the Caribbean to cure us of infertility? Who would have known?

4 Responses to “apparently I need a trip to the caribbean”

  1. Erin Says:

    Wow. With the mood I’m in today, I would have slapped him in the face and walked out. But that’s me.

    I guess I need a trip to the Caribbean too, hey? *grumble*

  2. ewokmama Says:

    Wow, I didn’t think people still said crap like that. If I were you, I’d have gone into excrutiating detail until he felt like the moron he is. You know how I am…I’d also have asked if he was willing to sponsor my trip to the Caribbean, especially if it didn’t do the trick. 😉

    This is going to be a great story later, you know. “Yeah, the best part was when my dentist tried to tell me how to cure my fertility issues. Who knew dentists received this type of training?!”

  3. sbr Says:

    two thoughts:
    1) what a fucktard.
    2) this is good practice for WHEN you get pregnant. everyone and their mom’s dog will want to give you some advice/story/tidbit that has no relevance to your situation…. it’s good to come up with a polite but pointed response that gets the point across: “I don’t care about your mom/sister/cousin’s girlfriend. Please, refrain from sharing.”
    🙂

  4. Mel Says:

    I would have asked him for the plane ticket 🙂 Sent him the bill…

    I added you for the book tour, but I need an email address. We conduct a small part of the tour via email before we post on our blogs. You can email me at thetowncriers@gmail.com.


Leave a Reply

