should i be worried?

Okay, I don’t have anything to update on the baby making front, but my posting has been dwindling recently, and I feel like writing tonight.  I’m sure it will pick up around the 15th, since that’s when I’ll have plenty of stories to tell regarding giving myself shots of Lupron (my first series of hormone shots that I’m sure will make me cry on whim or some shit like that).

Remember a while back when I visited my RE, and she told me that I need to start eating?  That I’m too thin?  And how I didn’t agree?  I think she would throw a shitfit now.  I weighed myself the other day, and found that I’ve lost weight (weight that I have not been trying to lose).  I now weigh 111 lbs.  That’s actually 3 pounds less than I’d weighed just about a month prior – on the same scale (yes, the scale is correct because it has to be calibrated since it’s used to weigh military personnel in for meeting standards).  And no, I’m not bragging.  I actually have no idea how I’ve lost the weight, nor do I want to continue losing weight.  While I do try to eat healthy on a somewhat consistent basis, I have not been so succesful recently.  I’ve also increased the amount I eat daily because I’ve been incorporating in more fruits into my diet, plus ensuring that I eat 3 meals a day plus a late night snack (I used to skip breakfast).  Now I’m at a loss of how to stop losing the weight, since I’m not sure what I’m doing to cause the loss.  I’m not even sure that it’s a problem.  I calculated my BMI, and I am still within a normal range.  The only reason I worry is because my RE seemed to be so concerned about it when I was 117 lbs.  I also worry that maybe I’m not getting enough nutrition from what I am eating since my weight keeps dropping.  I think if I continue to lose weight, I’m going to ask for a referral to a nutritionist (especially if I succesfully get pregnant), to make sure I’m on the right track in my eating habits.  If anyone has any suggestions – other than eating crap – please comment.

On another note, in my wanderings through Safeway health food section the other day (my recent new obsession), I found a really good organic dark chocolate whole soy frozen yogurt.  It is so yummy!!!  I know that probably doesn’t qualify for health food, but it’s healthier than regular ice cream, right? 🙂  If you come across it, I highly recommend that you try it.

6 Responses to “should i be worried?”

  1. ewokmama Says:

    I’m in the same boat. Looking in the mirror lately has been downright scary. I can see my ribs, man. GROSS. I eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day. I eat snacks. I eat candy. What the hell else can I do? I had thought maybe it was the breastfeeding but since you are having the same issue, I’m guessing it’s not because of that. It’s kind of scary. I just got my new health insurance, so I am going to go see my doc soon.

  2. Holly Says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if you’re losing the weight because of the combination of carrying Jack around, breastfeeding, and eating healthy. You’ve always been very thin without even trying, so with those changes, it’s no wonder you’re having a hard time keeping weight on. I’m curious to see what the doctor suggests for you, other than just eating more.

  3. sbr Says:

    holly, i think the doc already ruled out hyperthyroidism, right? that’s one possible explanation.

    there is also the fact the your eating less energy dense food that have more fiber so you feel full faster and longer.

    perhaps it would make sense for you to see a nutritionist and get his/her advise on an eating plan. i know one of the hard and fast rules of *losing* weight is to keep a food journal, because people often tend to underestimate what they eat, or forget things altogether. perhaps you aren’t eating enough, or you think you are eating more than you actually are, or you need to eat different types/combinations of foods.

    good luck. i know i’ve always struggled with losing weight, but i can’t imagine that its any easier when you want to to NOT lose weight and you do.

  4. Holly Says:

    sbr,

    Yeah, the doctor actually thought I might have hypothyroidism, which is kind of weird. When they retested my TSH levels, they came back fine, so I assume they ruled out hyperthyroidism as well as hypothyroidism.

    I think that it’s possible my metabolism has sped up since I started eating healthier and taking vitamins, but I haven’t increased the calories I eat. I’m sure I just need to adjust my intake a little and it will even out. I just hope I can find the right balance.

  5. ewokmama Says:

    I just found a BMI calculator on Kaiser’s website and you are at 18.5, the exact low end of normal. Just don’t lose any more weight!

    Did you ever find the Bare Naked granola at Safeway? I saw it when I was there last but can’t remember the aisle.

    Also, if you are interested, you can always order groceries on planetorganics.com…

  6. Holly Says:

    Trust me, I don’t plan on losing any more weight! I’ve been fairly lenient with myself on my food lately, splurging a little more often, so I wouldn’t be surprised if I’ve gained some of my weight back – especially since Lupron can cause weight gain.

    I did find the Bare Naked granola – it’s really good! Although Safeway has been out of the kind I like recently 😦 But there’s another brand I’ve been getting that’s almost as good. I’m glad I tried that, because it makes my yogurt taste better, and it’s more filling.

    I actually enjoy grocery shopping now (when I go to Safeway). I find that if I go by myself and let myself wander for a while, it’s very relaxing. I just wish I had a grocery store I could walk to. Maybe when we move to San Fran 🙂


Leave a Reply

