it’s official…

It’s finally done. We’re all paid up and on the list for the October cycle. I ended up making a payment of $4820, for a total of $5185 ($365 deposit at orientation). Mike and I have been trying to figure out where the $6200 figure came from originally, and we think that is the potential cost in the end, in case we have to cryopreserve any embryos, or any other common extra costs that come along with ICSI. The chances of us having embryos that are good enough quality to cryopreserve is pretty slim, 15% according to the doctor. And I still need to do research on the statistics of success using thawed embryos, since I have heard that the statistics are much lower. If it comes down to it where we have the option to cryopreserve, we probably will, but I’d still like to have the numbers available for my own knowledge.

Stephanie called me to schedule my baseline, which is set for October 31st. Then she rattled of a huge list of instructions for the next month and a half. It’s a good think I’m good at taking notes, because otherwise it would be very hard to keep all of this straight.

  • On the second day of my period (tomorrow), I start birth control.
  • On October 15th, I stop birth control and start my injections of Lupron. That morning, I’m supposed to call Stephanie so she can explain how to do the injection (that part is a little scary to me).
  • On October 31st, I go in for my baseline. She said to bring a “very large tote bag” because I will have a lot of medication to pick up. After the baseline, I’ll be going to an injection class from 0900-1100.
  • On November 7th, I go in for blood work.
  • On November 9th, I go in for blood work and ultrasound.
  • From the 9th on, the doctor will inform me how often I need to come in, but she said at my age, it will most likely be every day.
  • Tentative date of egg retrieval is November 15th.
  • Tentative date of embryo transfer for 3 day embryo is November 18th; for blastocyst (5 day) it would be November 20th.

Let’s hope that nothing goes wrong in the mean time…

Posted in IVF. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “it’s official…”

  1. ewokmama Says:

    Good luck! I’ll be sending baby vibes your way. (And I can’t believe they didn’t write that all down for you!)

  2. Beth Says:

    Good Luck! I hope the first time is the charm. 🙂

  3. Holly Says:

    Thank you both.

    Ewokmama – Yes, I actually agree. You would think they would give me written instructions. There just seems to be so much room for mistake when so many directions are given over the phone. Even if they didn’t write down specialized instructions just for me, they could give everyone a form with all the procedures and have the patients fill out the dates. Oh well, though. Like I said, I’m glad I take good notes 🙂

  4. sbr Says:

    oof! that’s some serious medical work!
    Good luck… hope you have to go through as few cycles as possible.


Leave a Reply

