update from urologist

Mike had a phone consult with the urologist today…the results came back that he is healthy (good) and that they have no idea what is causing his low sperm count (bad).  I can’t say I am surprised.  The urologist said there is one more thing they could do in order to determine the cause, which is a biopsy, but that wouldn’t mean that there would be a cure.  He said it is possible it is genetic, and the biopsy would show if that was the case.  I told Mike it is solely his decision if he wants to get the biopsy done, since it is an invasive procedure into his genitals (he’d have to have surgery done on his testicle to gather the cells for testing).  Mike told the urologist he’d have to think about it and get back to him if he wanted to go that route.

So, what does this mean for us?  It means that we’re going to have to do IVF, surprise surprise.  I’m calling my RE on monday to have the results of all my lab tests faxed over to the IVF clinic so that I can get the orientation scheduled.  Then I guess we’ll see from there.

Leave a Reply

