I did it!

So I’ve been in search of reusable grocery bags for several weeks now, and I finally bought some!  I’m very picky, so there were a few conditions the bags had to meet:

     1) affordable, meaning no more than $10 each
     2) durable
     3) washable
     4) long enough handles to carry on my shoulders
     5) and cute, which these ones definitely are!

I got the recommendation from Annika (a post my sister actually pointed out to me).  I’m waiting on their delivery, which they said would take up to 7 days, but I’m very excited 🙂  I’m trying to make a genuine effort to become more environmentally friendly, and this is one of the first steps I’ve taken.  I also picked up a recycle bin yesterday (I’ve been terrible about recycling). 

My next step is to stop buying disposable water bottles, so I am now in search for good reusable ones.  I did see the SIGG bottles, but they are a bit on the expensive side ($23 each).  If it were up to me, I would buy them, but it’s convincing my husband that they are worth it that is a problem.   I’m of the opinion that we would spend more than that in two months of buying the disposable kind at the grocery store, so why not?  But he thinks we should go down to WalMart and buy the $3 ones.  I’m just worried that they’ll make the water taste funny – I am very picky about the taste of my water!  If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

5 Responses to “I did it!”

  1. Beth Says:

    We bought Trader Joe’s canvas bags a while ago. We got their original bags that hold more and have really long handles. We use them pretty much everywhere. The people at Target get so confused when I bring them in. I guess people don’t usually bring their own bags because the cashiers always look for a bar code to scan. 😉

    I’m going for the SIGG bottle but I can’t decide which one I want. I agree with you about the cost. It costs about as much as 5 cases of bottled water, which I could go through in no time. I am also sensitive to taste so I imagine the stainless will be better than plastic. They’re only $19/$20 at REI and I think store pickup is free.

  2. ewokmama Says:

    Yay!! Go you!

    Check into Klean Kanteens. They are cheaper, probably because they aren’t designer. New Wave Enviro also makes some that are made in a variety of colors. Oh, and check Amazon because their prices seem to be better than whatever you’re linking to.

  3. Beth Says:

    The Klean Kanteens I’ve seen are usually a little bit cheaper. Some of the Amazon prices are less but be careful cause a lot of them aren’t sold by Amazon so your shipping may counteract the price difference.

    The SIGGs have received the best reviews on Amazon. They might be more expensive because of the coating on the inside as well as the pretty designs. People seem to have some taste and lid issues with the Klean Kanteens and the Enviros. The Klean Kanteens do have a wider mouth which people seem to like.

    There are a few SIGGs at the online REI outlet ($12.93). I think I’m ordering one of those to try out. I also like the SIGGs because you can get different caps for them. I’ve been looking around a lot so I’m probably oversharing. 🙂

  4. Holly Says:

    Wow Beth, you really have done your research 🙂 I didn’t even think to look for the SIGGs on another site. $12.93 is a pretty good price, I might be able to talk Mike into that 🙂 Although the site that I saw the SIGGs on say that there are a lot of imitations out there that aren’t as good, so watch out for that.

    I do think that the cashiers will look at me pretty funny when I take the bags in, because I’ve never seen anyone around here with their own bags. Who knows, maybe people will see me doing it and it will catch on 😀

  5. ewokmama Says:

    We took a sharpie and wrote our name inside the bags, right on the upper band – saves cashiers from thinking it’s something they sell in the store.


Leave a Reply

