I’m afraid to ask, but what now?

Mike received a call from Dr. R today with his semen analysis results…as you can tell from the title, the results are not so good. According to the test, he is infertile. His sperm count was about 1 million, which is extremely low (I guess it has to be around 20 million to be considered infertile). However, there is slightly good news…the test results may be invalid. Dr. R told him to schedule himself for another test, which he is going to make the call tomorrow. She said that she found it very strange, because Mike already has a son, and generally there has to be something traumatic happen for someone to become infertile (which nothing has happened that we can think of) – or there can be blockage. She also said that the results specifically said “received already liquefied” which she claims to never have seen before. It takes about an hour for semen to liquefy, which means that the hospital may have waited too long before putting it in storage, or whatever they do with it.

So….now we wait…again. I’m trying not to let this bother me, because I’m telling myself that the test results are bogus. And if they aren’t bogus, I’m telling myself that it is just a blockage and that it can be fixed. I have to believe that for now. Because otherwise, I’d have to actually think about what we’ll do, and my mind refuses to go there. So I may be holding onto false hope, but that’s alright. I have plenty of time to be crushed later.

Dr. R also told him today that about 25% of couples have infertility problems, and that a couple is not considered ‘infertile’ until about a year of trying. We’ve been trying for 9 months, so I suppose people may have thought I was jumping the gun getting worried about not being pregnant. If my period had actually come more than once in the past 9 months, I probably wouldn’t have gone to see the doctor until closer to a year. But it’s kinda hard to get pregnant when your not ovulating! However, I expected the problem to be just me, not Mike too. We can deal with me not ovulating – there’s Clomid, IUI, and IVF, and possibly other things that I haven’t even heard of yet. But I’ve read nothing about what to do in the situation where the male is infertile. Please comment if you have any experience with this.

3 Responses to “I’m afraid to ask, but what now?”

  1. ewokmama Says:

    It’s gotta be bogus! Or maybe Mike’s an alien. Liquified – so weird! Didn’t you tell me he didn’t quite do what he was supposed to before the test?

  2. Holly Says:

    He was supposed to stay away from alchohol and caffeine for 3 days prior to the test, but he didn’t. However, I don’t think that is the reason for the liquefed sample. I think it’s probably that the hospital messed up the sample – at least that is what I’m hoping for. I’m going to do some more research to find out what affect alchohol and caffeine can have on the test results, but my guess is that they wouldn’t affect it that badly. It wouldn’t make sense – that would mean that no one would get pregnant if alchohol and caffeine lowered the sperm count by that much. He’s going to be retested next week, and I think he’s going to a different hospital this time, so we’ll cross our fingers for better results.

  3. livingfragrance Says:

    hmmmm okay it is the stranger leaving you a reply again…. How many sperm cells are needed to fall pregnant? 😉 ONLY ONE 🙂 There is hope…. I’ll be praying for you 🙂


Leave a Reply

