back to work

Mike and I decided last minute to take a trip to Atlantic City this weekend. We both like playing poker, so we take a trip to AC every couple months or so – more often when I’m not busy with college. We didn’t get back until about midnight last night, and I had to be up by 6am, so I was pretty exhausted today. Anyway, it occurred to me that we wouldn’t be able to take those type of last minute trips anymore once we have a baby. Not that I mind (I’m definitely not complaining), but it is interesting to think how much our life will change after having a baby. It’s not as though our social life will suffer, because trust me, we really don’t have one. If you can believe it, I actually think having a baby will encourage us to do more. I think of all the things I would take my child to see, such as the zoo in D.C., or the Inner Harbor in Baltimore, and I realize that there are just so many fun things to do around here – that we never do. We talk about it a lot. Every once in a while I throw out a comment saying “we should go ___ this weekend” or “we should really go here __”. But we never follow through. Other than our occasional trips to AC, where we sit on our asses at a poker table for hours on end, we mostly give in to the temptation of just lounging around the house on the weekends. Granted, I use that time to finish up homework that I’d put off all week, and that is generally my time to clean the house (fun times, right?), but you’d think that we would take advantage of having so much to do around here. The funny thing is that where I lived last, I used to complain about how boring it was, because it was such a small town. Now that I’m in one of the most crowded places, I choose to do nothing. However, if we had a child, I definitely would not want to coop them up in the house all day. So even though our life will change, I definitely think it will change for the better in all aspects, including getting our lazy asses out of the house and outdoors.

3 Responses to “back to work”

  1. ewokmama Says:

    If you find excuses not to go out and do things now, you will probably find even more when you do have kids, at least while they are young. It can be such a pain to pack a diaper bag and get everything coordinated to go out for the day. 😛

  2. Holly Says:

    That’s true. It wont be so easy to take last minute trips like we usually do. I still do think it will encourage us to go do more things locally, even if it’s just going to the park for the day. When you have someone else around that needs entertaining, you tend to do more, right?

    As far as diaper bags, I would think it would be easier just to keep one packed at all times, just for those times that you are in a rush. Of course, that may be easier said than done 🙂

  3. ewokmama Says:

    If you are able to keep a diaper bag constantly packed, you are a more organized woman than me! Of course, you could get two so that one is always packed and ready to go. I still don’t have a diaper bag I like, either. 😛


Leave a Reply

