baby on the brain

It’s funny, I was just recently saying that I’m really glad that I don’t have children, cause I’m so busy. That all changed after being around my new nephew, Jack. About a week ago or so, Mike and I decided that we’re going to have a baby. We decided I would just go off of birth control, and we’ll just wait and see what happens. It’s all I can think about now. So I’ve been off of birth control for about 2 weeks now, and I keep on hoping to see signs of pregnancy. I know it’s early, so I don’t want to get my hopes up every month. But for the past few days, my nipples have been so tender, and I can’t help but think maybe?…I did some research online, and nipple tenderness can be one of the earliest signs of pregnancy, but it can also be that my clothes just rubbed them the wrong way, or it can be any fluctuation of hormones. So they could just be tender because my body is adjusting to not having the hormones from the birth control. I guess we’ll see.

Some of the posts I saw on the internet last night said that on average, it takes about a year to get pregnant. I think that would drive me nuts, waiting every month to see if I miss my period. I think that if by the 6 month mark I’m still not pregnant, then I’ll probably start taking my temperature and making sure to have sex on the day I’m ovulating, and any other suggestions they suggest to getting pregnant. I just don’t want it to be that way in the beginning. I’d rather just have fun trying to get pregnant, and it seems like constantly monitoring your body for what day you have to have sex would take away that fun. I really hope it doesn’t come to that.

I also read many posts that a lot of people who got off of birth control were pregnant within the first few weeks. I would be pretty shocked if that happened to me, but not unhappy. I’m really trying to prepare my body for pregnancy. I’ve started taking women’s once-a-day vitamins, and drinking more juices. I was still having a drink occasionally, but I decided last night that I’m not even going to do that. I want my baby to turn out as healthy as possible. I still have to switch hospitals and get set up with a gynecologist, but I figure for now, my sister is the best person to get advice from since she just had a baby.

I think I’ve already picked out names for my kid. Mike and I talked about this when we were overseas. We think for a son, we’re naming him Eric Michael, and for a girl, Hannah Mashell. I’m not positive on those names. I’m going to buy a baby names book, but so far, those are the names I like the best. I’m sure I might change my mind a million times once I get pregnant. I don’t really care what I have, boy or girl. Although I think a boy would be easier to handle. Girls get so complicated, especially when they are in their teens. But I honestly will be ecstatic with either.

So my sister converted me to cloth diapers for the baby. When she first told me that she was going to use cloth diapers, I just thought she was being crazy, and that it wouldn’t take her long to make the switch to disposable. But when I was visiting her, I helped change Jack every once in a while, and I was surprised at how easy cloth diapers are. Not only that, at the end of the week, she ran out of cloth diapers and had to use disposable for a day, and I didn’t like them! How about that? I’ve been researching diaper services around here, and I found one company that charges $20/week for 100 diapers, which is not bad at all. They also loan you a laundry basket, and give you one diaper wrap for free a week. It sounds like a pretty good deal, and I’ve read some good reviews about them online. They don’t have my area listed on their site, but they have a lot of surrounding areas, and they said just to contact them since they add areas to their delivery service all the time. They are the only ones I’ve found so far, so I hope they can deliver around here. I really want to do cloth diapers, but I think it will just be much easier to have someone else wash them for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

